Little Fingers of Life

New Year New Goals

on January 5, 2012

Ultrasound Picture

What better way to start a blog in the new year than to talk about goals? Yeah, it’s pretty cliche, but hey, with a little one due in about a month, I’ll take cliche at the moment.

1. Figure out a schedule with the new baby.

I know this will be complicated and baby will completely rule my schedule (let’s face it, baby already does) but it’s definitely one I will need to work out. It will be interesting learning to manage work, a bit of personal time, and keeping up with chores around the house all with a new baby to completely rule my life.

2. Make some time for myself.
I think this will be one of the most challenging in this upcoming year. Between finishing my Internship and school, adjusting to life with a newborn, and hopefully getting a call as a Deaconess there will be lots of changes and lots of demands on my time. However, I also know I need some quality me time. This is something I have not been good at taking the way it is. Hopefully I can find a way to at least make sure I get one full day off of work every week.

3. Make something once a month.
This will also be an ambitious goal for me and will tie in directly to my previous goal. This might include making a new gluten-free baked good (successfully,) woodworking, sewing, etc. I’m sure there will be plenty of things I can make and put to good use with a new baby around. I am also completely willing to wait a month or two to start this one with the baby’s arrival so close.

4. Learn a new skill.
I have been hoping to learn crocheting or knitting for a while now. I’ve tried to start a project a couple of times but, partly because I’m horrible about taking time for myself and partly because I’m just really impatient sometimes, I haven’t completed one. I ran into a problem with the last couple projects I started that I could not figure out, leading to the project sitting there uncompleted. Perhaps if I manage to learn WITH or FROM someone I’ll be a little more likely and motivated to complete a project.

5. Take more pictures.
Now this should be a simple one! I imagine if for some reason I’m not keeping up I’ll get plenty of pestering from family, especially since they are all far away. I’m also sure that I’ll find my little one so cute and adorable I will not be able to resist snapping some pictures on a regular basis. Since my iPhone is my camera and it is practically attached to me all the time I’ll always be ready to snap those photos. When it comes down to it I LOVE taking photos, all types of photos, I’m just horrible about actually taking them. This will give me a good reason to do so and enjoy a little hobby time in the midst of the chaos. Perhaps if I follow through with this one enough I can actually justify getting a nice good quality camera… oh how I have dreamed of one for years.

Although I have lots of things I would love to accomplish for the year, getting organized, saving money, exercising, etc. I think creating a limited amount of goals is much more realistic than actually trying to make all of my dreams a goal. I firmly believe in the idea of creating realistic and achievable goals. That being said I am also going to give myself some grace and flexibility with these goals. With the arrival of our baby and some adjustments that are bound to happen in life I may change, add, or modify these goals accordingly.
What are some of your goals for the year?

 

One response to “New Year New Goals

  1. Cat says:

    Can’t wait to see some pictures of your new blessing in your lifes once the big day is here! Nice to hear you know some goals are hard to reach. It’s must be a family thing to get frustrated with a project you have trouble with being set aside.

Leave a Reply

